Academic Overview

JESS Jumeirah provides education for children aged 3-11 years. There is a strong emphasis on multi-sensory, cross-curricular, authentic learning throughout the school, with a clear focus on developing the skills and attitudes required as life-long learners.

Children entering JESS in Foundation One begin a 2-year programme following the Early Years Foundation Stage, a UK Early Years curriculum based on a practical, hands-on approach. Children are guided through 7 areas of learning, namely:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Physical development
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Understanding the world

On entry into Year One children commence Key Stage One based on the UK National Curriculum.  This is also a 2-year programme leading to Key Stage Two. The National Curriculum subjects are divided into core subjects: English, mathematics and science and foundation subjects: history, geography, art, design technology, music, computing and  physical education. In addition, our pupils learn Arabic from Foundation Two and French from Year Five. The Oasis department within our school responds to the individual needs of particular children, offering learning support as well as extension for children who require extra input.

Learning and Teaching

At JESS we firmly believe in the concept of lifelong learning, enabling each child to achieve his/her potential.  Learning should be a rewarding fulfilling and enjoyable experience equipping the pupils with the skills, knowledge and understanding necessary to make informed choices about important things in their lives and ultimately make a difference in the world.  We conduct all our learning and teaching in an atmosphere of trust and respect for all, responding professionally and sensitively to the needs of all our pupils.At JESS children are supported in their development as active learners. They are involved in target setting and evaluation of their own success.  Self and peer evaluation skills are developed systematically from an early age to enable children to develop critical thinking skills. As children all learn in different ways, teaching planned with learning styles is a key factor; visual, auditory and kin-aesthetic learners are all catered for within lessons, just as all levels are extended or supported as necessary through a thorough implementation of differentiation across all areas of the curriculum.


Assessment is an ongoing process and a feature of daily school life. It involves both pupils and teachers, it informs future planning through target setting and allows for the celebration of effort and achievement.  Standardised assessment in English, Maths and Science  is a feature of practice  and the Cognitive Ability Tests  (CATs) are used in Years 3 and 5 to identify those who need support, those who are gifted and areas of strength and areas to develop of all children.  Teacher assessment sits alongside tests to formulate a level in each of these areas.  These levels are identified on the end of year school report.